Resolution

I researched what resolution means and I found this “Resolution refers to the number of pixels in an image. Resolution is sometimes identified by the width and height of the image as well as the total number of pixels in the image”

In photography resolution is very important , as it is used in digital imaging which a photographer would have to use on a daily basis. Within camera resolution millions of pixels are measured in both image file resolution and printer resolution, they are measured in pixels per inch or in pixel dimensions. However printer resolution is measured in dots per inch which makes sure that the colour of the printed images are correct and so the colours don’t stretch.

During my lesson today I had to take pictures of a newspaper sudoku to check the resolution my our lens by using the different millimetres which were 18mm, 35mm and 55mm. I then had to change my aperture three time within each mm on our lens. I started off with 18mm and having my aperture at F3.5, then at F8 and then F22, I had to change my aperture each time as well to suit the lighting and because the aperture was changing. I repeated the same steps for the other two. For each time I zoomed out to 35mm and 55mm I had to make sure that the sudoku stayed in the same frame as the rest so I would then be able to compare them later on. Here are my results:

contactsheet-001

 

Leave a Reply

