Resolution Cropped Images

To test my resolution further and compare my images using different lengths of zoom, I had to open all nine images up not photoshop. I opened up three at a time, I opened up all three 18mm images first and then did the 35mm and then the 55mm. I got my navigator up and changed the positioning of the images so I clicked on ‘windows’ then ‘arrange’ and clicked on ‘3-up Horizontal’ so they were all three images were in line with each other. I then used my navigator to zoom in 100% to all three images and placed the curser in the top left of all three images. I then cropped the top left and saved them. I then used my navigator to select the middle of the images, I used the same steps as the top left. I then repeated this with my 35mm and 55mm images. Doing this allowed me to see between the different apertures and zoom lengths in each image and to see which one had the best resolution. Some of my images had slight camera blur which I couldn’t see when the image was fully zoomed out, however when I zoomed in 100% I could then see the blur and camera shake.

Here are my 18mm images that were cropped at the top left hand corner:

In order from top to bottom: 18mm F4, F8, F22. Comparing these, the one with the best resolution would be the first one with the aperture at F4, as there is very little camera shake compared to the rest of them and also the lighting is much better that the there two. The top image is very sharp and clear compared to the other two. The second best would be the image with an aperture of F8.

18mm-f8-top-left18mm-f22-top-left35mm-f4-5-top-left

Here are my 18mm images that were cropped in the middle:

In order from top to bottom: 18mm, F4, F8, F22. Again comparing these, I would say that the first image with an aperture of F4 has the best resolution as it is very sharp with very little camera shake. The other two with apertures of F8 and F22 are darker and less sharp, especially the image with an aperture of F22 as it is quite blurry and has a very soft tone to it.

18mm-f4-middle18mm-f8-middle18mm-f22-middle

Here are my 35mm images that were cropped in the top left hand corner:

In order from top to bottom: 35mm, F4.5, F8, F22. The one with the best resolution would be the image with he aperture of F8, as it is very sharp. However, the images with apertures of F4.5 and f22 are blurry with camera shake and their tones are soft. The images with an aperture of F22 has a lot of camera shake, however it has the best lighting despite the blur.

35mm-f4-5-top-left35mm-f8-top-left35mm-f22-top-left

Here are my 35mm images that were cropped in the middle:

In order from top to bottom: 35mm, F4.5, F8, F22. I would say again that the second image with an aperture of F8 has the best resolution between the three as it is sharp and clear, whereas the other two have camera shake and are blurry with soft tones. The last image of F22, has slightly less camera shake than in the top left hand corner.

35mm-f4-5-middle35mm-f8-middle35mm-f22-middle

Here are my 55mm images that were cropped in the top left hand corner:

In order from top to bottom: 55mm, F5.6, F8, F22. The image that has the best resolution is the second image with an aperture of F8 as it is sharp with no camera shake and is clear. The first image is better than the last at F22 as it is sharper and has less camera shake, however both of them have very soft tones and are not clear.

55mm-f5-6-top-left55mm-f8-top-left55mm-f22-top-left

Here are my 55mm images that were cropped in the middle:

In order from top to bottom: 55mm F5.6, F8, F22. Once again the second image with an aperture of F8 is the image with the best resolution for the sam reasons as the top left hand corner at 55mm. The first image at F5.6 s slightly better than the top left hand corner as it is sharper and clearer but still has some camera shake and the tone is very soft.

55mm-f5-6-middle55mm-f8-middle55mm-f22-middle

Leave a Reply

